Dominican Republic

Dominican cultural identity

The Dominican Republic is a country with great historical and cultural richness, the product of the meeting of Spanish, African and Taíno cultures. Dominican culture expresses this mix vividly, and more visibly in its music and gastronomy.

Dominican art, like Dominicans themselves, is a reflection of its environment and therefore mirrors the particularities of our island. The strident colours of our paintings, the exuberance of our rhythms and the overflowing joy of the Dominican people echo our tropical flora, the constant sun and the blue of the sea that surrounds us.

 

Our music, Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity

Merengue is a musical and dance style originated in the Dominican Republic at the end of the 19th century. The primary instrumental structure of the typical merengue ensemble synthesises the three cultures that make up the idiosyncrasy of Dominican culture. The European influence is represented by the accordion, the African one by the tambora, and the Taíno by the güira. Its greatest exponent is Juan Luis Guerra, who helped position merengue on international stages.

The music and dance of the merengue were declared Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on November 30, 2016.  November 26th is National Merengue Day.

The Cofradía de los Congos del Espíritu Santo de Villa Mella and the Cocolo dance theatre are also both included in the list of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

Recently, the candidacy for the entrance of Dominican bachata in the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity was presented.

République Dominicaine

Identité culturelle dominicaine

La République dominicaine est un pays d’une grande richesse historique et culturelle, fruit de la rencontre des cultures espagnole, africaine et taíno. Dans la culture dominicaine on constate ce mélange dans le caractère enthousiaste de la population ainsi que dans sa musique et sa gastronomie.

L’art dominicain, comme les dominicains eux-mêmes, est le reflet de son environnement et exprime les particularités de notre île. Les couleurs stridentes de nos peintures, l’exubérance de nos rythmes et la joie débordante du peuple dominicain font écho à notre flore tropicale, au soleil constant et au bleu de la mer qui nous entoure.

 

Notre musique, Patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité

Le merengue est un style musical et de danse de la République dominicaine dont l’origine remonte à la fin du 19ème siècle. La structure instrumentale primaire de l’ensemble du merengue typique synthétise les trois cultures qui constituent l’idiosyncrasie de la culture dominicaine. L’influence européenne est représentée par l’accordéon, l’africaine par la tambora et la taíno par la güira. Son plus grand représentant est Juan Luis Guerra, qui a permis à la République dominicaine de positionner le merengue sur les scènes internationales.

La musique et la danse du merengue ont été déclarées Patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) le 30 novembre 2016.  Le 26 novembre est la Journée nationale du Merengue.

La Cofradía de los Congos del Espíritu Santo de Villa Mella et le théâtre de danse Cocolo sont également inclus dans la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité.

La bachata est un autre genre musical de renommée internationale, originaire de la République dominicaine. Bien qu’elle soit apparue dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, ce n’est que dans les années 1990 que la bachata est devenue un genre musical dominant. Elle est maintenant dansée à travers le monde. La candidature pour l’entrée de la bachata dominicaine sur la Liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité a été présentée récemment.

Diseño web