RELATIONS BETWEEN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC AND THE EUROPEAN UNION

The Dominican Republic and the European Union maintain excellent relations based on three fundamental pillars: a sustained political dialogue, growing commercial exchange and cooperation programs. Mutual respect and shared values ​​are the basis of a relationship in which both parties share the concern for the consolidation of democracy, the strengthening of the rule of law, sustainable development, social justice and the principles of international law.

The EU-DR liaisons are part of a series of agreements and dialogues in which the Dominican Republic plays an active role, including the CELAC-EU political dialogue and the Association Agreement between the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific States (ACP), revised in 2000 with the signing of the Cotonou Agreement. As a member of the Central American Integration System (SICA), we also participate in the development of political dialogue between the EU and SICA.

The Joint Caribbean-EU Partnership Strategy seeks to extend and improve political relations, traditionally based on development and cooperation, by providing greater political participation through five main lines of action: regional integration; reconstruction of Haiti; climate change and natural disasters; crime and security and joint action in multilateral forums.

At the political level, we maintain constructive exchanges through the bi-regional EURO-LAT and CARIFORUM-EU assemblies and the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly.

Trade relations between the European Union and the Dominican Republic have deepened in the last decade, partly due to the CARIFORUM-EU EPA signed in 2008.

Citizens of the European Union represent 18.35% of the total number of visitors in the Dominican Republic. In 2017, almost 1.2 million Europeans visited our country, in particular from Germany (265 709), France (221 492), Spain (177 993), England (177 534) and Italy (84 094), representing a 9% increase over the previous year.

 

Cooperation

A variety of cooperation initiatives and actions programmed and executed at national and regional levels support collaboration between the European Union and the Dominican Republic and contribute to sustainably eradicating poverty in our country.

The 11th European Development Fund (EDF 2014-2020) is the primary development aid instrument provided by the European Union to the countries of Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP) and the overseas states and territories through the implementation of initiatives in such fields as health, science, education and culture.

Through this fund, the European Union has allocated $72 million euros to the Dominican Republic to carry out projects in the two priority areas defined in our National Indicative Program (NIP):

  • Support for productive and inclusive development, and training skills for quality employment.
  • Support for institutional reforms of public administration.

Likewise, CARIFORUM received $346 million euros through the EDF. The Regional Indicative Program (RIP) establishes CARIFORUM’s priorities, which include binational projects that contribute to strengthening relations between the Dominican Republic and Haiti. Also, the PIR supports the implementation of other programs, namely integration and regional economic cooperation, fighting climate change, management of natural disasters, the environment and sustainable energies, and crime and security in the region.

The Dominican Republic can also access the funds of the intra-ACP envelope which allocate resources for projects in ACP countries in areas such as education, protection of the environment, adaptation to climate change, promotion of investment and private sector, amongst others.

The Dominican Republic can benefit from other cooperation instruments such as:

The Development Cooperation Instrument (DCI) available to all developing countries, which focuses on promoting the sustainable economic, social and environmental development.

The Association Instrument, available to all non- European Union countries, specifically designed to promote global strategic interests by strengthening external strategies, policies and actions.

The Dominican Republic can also benefit from the Horizon 2020 initiative which encourages cooperation with non-EU partners in the areas of research and innovation.

Since 1992 the European Investment Bank has supported 15 investment projects in the Dominican Republic for a contribution totaling around 350 million euros. Most recently, the Caribbean Investment Facility (CIF), one of the EU’s regional blending facilities, which benefits Caribbean countries signatories of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, has been instrumental at mobilizing funds for development projects by combining grants from the EIB with other public and private resources, such as loans from the European and Regional Financial Institutions.

The EIB’s regional office for the Caribbean is located in Santo Domingo.

 

Trade

During the last decade, the European Union and the Dominican Republic have consolidated their trade relations, partly due to the CARIFORUM-EU EPA. The EU is currently the second most important trading partner of the Dominican Republic, while the DR ranks 73rd among the trading partners of the European Union.

The trade of goods between the Dominican Republic and the European Union amounted to 11,800 million euros during the last five years. Dominican exports to the European Union amounted to $4.3 billion euros, while imports from the European Union reached $7.4 billion euros, for a trade deficit for the Dominican Republic of around $3.06 billion euros.

Total trade experienced a positive growth trend since the implementation of the EPA. In 2017 the exchange of goods with the EU reached its second highest record totalling 2.6 billion euros for a 45% increase compared to a decade ago.

 

Investment

The European Union is the second most important investor in the Dominican Republic. Between 1993 and 2017 it represented 20.3% of the stock of FDI in the country, totalling 7.3 billion dollars, behind the United States only by 1.5 billion dollars.

Spain leads with 53% of these investments, followed by the United Kingdom with 15%, France with 13% and the Netherlands with 11%.

EU investments in the country cover a wide range of economic areas such as tourism, infrastructure, telecommunications, airport management, financial services and technology. Europeans have also shown great interest in investing in our rum and cigar industries, contributing to their worldwide recognition.

 

Tourism

The European Union represents 25% of the total number of visitors in our country, which makes them an essential market for our tourism industry. In 2017, almost 1.2 million Europeans visited the Dominican Republic, in particular from Germany (259,133), France (232,024), Spain (169,760), the United Kingdom (165,111) and Italy (81,729), representing an increase of 11% to the previous year.

RELATIONS ENTRE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DOMINICAINE ET L´UNION EUROPÉENNE

La République dominicaine et l’Union européenne entretiennent d’excellentes relations fondées sur trois piliers fondamentaux : un dialogue politique soutenu, des échanges commerciaux croissants et des programmes de coopération. Le respect mutuel et les valeurs communes sont la base d’une relation dans laquelle les deux partenaires partagent l’intérêt  de la consolidation de la démocratie, du renforcement de l’État de droit, du développement durable, de la justice sociale et des principes du droit international.

La RD et l’UE sont liés par une série d’accords et de dialogues dans lesquels la République dominicaine joue un rôle actif, notamment le dialogue politique CELAC-UE et l’accord d’association entre l’Union européenne et les États d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (ACP), signé le 23 juin 2000 à Cotonou (Accord de Cotonou). En tant que membre du Système d’intégration de l’Amérique centrale (SICA), nous participons également au développement du dialogue politique entre l’UE et le SICA.

La stratégie de partenariat conjoint Caraïbes-UE vise à étendre et à améliorer les relations politiques, traditionnellement fondées sur le développement et la coopération, en suivant cinq grands axes d’action : l’intégration régionale, la reconstruction d’Haïti, le changement climatique et les catastrophes naturelles, la criminalité et la sécurité, et l’action conjointe dans les enceintes multilatérales

Au niveau politique, nous entretenons également des échanges constructifs par le biais des assemblées birégionales EURO-LAT et CARIFORUM-UE ainsi que par l’Assemblée parlementaire paritaire ACP-UE.

Les relations commerciales entre la République dominicaine et l’Union européenne se sont approfondies au cours de la dernière décennie, en partie grâce à l’Accord de Partenariat Economique (APE)  CARIFORUM-UE signé en 2008.

Les citoyens de l’Union européenne représentent 18,35 % du nombre total de visiteurs en République dominicaine. En 2017, près de 1,2 million d’Européens ont visité notre pays, en particulier de l’Allemagne (265 709), la France (221 492), l’Espagne (177 993), l’Angleterre (177 534) et l’Italie (84 094), ce qui représente une augmentation de 9 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

 

Coopération

Plusieurs initiatives et actions de coopération programmées et exécutées aux niveaux national et régional soutiennent la collaboration entre l’Union européenne et la République dominicaine et contribuent à l’éradication durable de la pauvreté dans notre pays.

Le 11e Fonds européen de développement (FED 2014-2020) est le principal instrument d’aide au développement accordé par l’Union européenne aux pays d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (ACP) et aux États et territoires d’outre-mer, pour la mise en œuvre d’initiatives dans des domaines tels que la santé, la science, l’éducation et la culture.

Grâce à ce fonds, l’Union européenne a alloué 72 millions d’euros à la République dominicaine pour réaliser des projets dans les deux domaines prioritaires définis dans notre Programme Indicatif National (PIN) :

– Appui au développement productif et inclusif, et à la formation des compétences pour un emploi de qualité.

– Appui aux réformes institutionnelles de l’administration publique.

De même, le CARIFORUM a reçu 346 millions d’euros par l’intermédiaire du FED. Le Programme Indicatif Régional (PIR) établit les priorités du CARIFORUM, qui comprennent des projets binationaux qui contribuent à renforcer les relations entre la République dominicaine et Haïti. En outre, le PIR soutient la mise en œuvre d’autres programmes, à savoir l’intégration et la coopération économique régionale, la lutte contre le changement climatique, la gestion des catastrophes naturelles, l’environnement et les énergies durables, ainsi que la criminalité et la sécurité dans la région.

La République dominicaine peut également accéder aux fonds de l’enveloppe intra-ACP qui alloue des ressources pour des projets dans les pays ACP dans des domaines tels que l’éducation, la protection de l’environnement, l’adaptation au changement climatique, la promotion de l’investissement et du secteur privé, entre autres.

La République dominicaine peut bénéficier d’autres instruments de coopération de l’UE tels que :

L’Instrument de coopération au développement (ICD) mis à la disposition de tous les pays en développement, qui met l’accent sur la promotion du développement économique, social et environnemental durable.

L’Instrument d’association, accessible à tous les pays non membres de l’Union européenne, est spécifiquement conçu pour promouvoir les intérêts stratégiques mondiaux en renforçant les stratégies, les politiques et les actions extérieures.

La République dominicaine peut également bénéficier de l’initiative Horizon 2020, qui encourage la coopération avec des partenaires non communautaires dans les domaines de la recherche et de l’innovation.

Depuis 1992, la Banque européenne d’investissement a soutenu 15 projets d’investissement en République dominicaine pour un montant total d’environ 350 millions d’euros. Plus récemment, la Facilité d’investissement dans les Caraïbes (FIC), l’une des facilités régionales de financement mixte  de l’UE, qui bénéficie les pays des Caraïbes signataires de l’Accord de partenariat ACP-UE, a joué un rôle déterminant dans la mobilisation de fonds pour des projets de développement en combinant les subventions de la BEI avec d’autres ressources publiques et privées, comme les prêts des institutions financières européennes et régionales.

Le bureau régional de la BEI pour les Caraïbes est situé à Saint-Domingue.

 

Commerce

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l’Union européenne et la République dominicaine ont consolidé leurs relations commerciales, en partie grâce à l’APE CARIFORUM-UE. L’UE est actuellement le deuxième partenaire commercial de la République dominicaine, tandis que la RD se classe au 73e rang parmi les partenaires commerciaux de l’Union européenne.

Les échanges de marchandises entre la République dominicaine et l’Union européenne se sont élevés à 11 800 millions d’euros au cours des cinq dernières années. Les exportations dominicaines vers l’Union européenne se sont élevées à 4,3 milliards d’euros, tandis que les importations en provenance de l’Union européenne ont atteint 7,4 milliards d’euros.

Le commerce total a connu une croissance positive depuis la mise en œuvre de l’APE. En 2017, l’échange de biens avec l’UE a atteint son deuxième plus haut niveau record avec 2,6 milliards d’euros pour une augmentation de 45% par rapport à la décennie précédente.

 

Investissement

L’Union européenne est le deuxième investisseur le plus important en République dominicaine. Entre 1993 et 2017, les investissements de l’UE ont représenté 20,3 % du stock d’Investissement Etranger Direct (IED) dans le pays, pour un total de 7,3 milliards de dollars, soit 1,5 milliard de dollars de moins que les États-Unis.

L’Espagne arrive en tête avec 53 % de ces investissements, suivie du Royaume-Uni avec 15 %, de la France avec 13 % et des Pays-Bas avec 11 %.

Les investissements de l’UE dans le pays couvrent un large éventail de domaines économiques tels que le tourisme, les infrastructures, les télécommunications, la gestion des aéroports, les services financiers et la technologie. Les Européens ont également investi dans nos industries du rhum et du cigare, contribuant ainsi à leur reconnaissance mondiale.

 

Tourisme

L’Union européenne représente 25% du nombre total de visiteurs dans notre pays, ce qui représente un marché essentiel pour notre industrie touristique. En 2017, près de 1,2 million d’Européens ont visité la République dominicaine, en particulier l’Allemagne (259 133), la France (232 024), l’Espagne (169 760), le Royaume-Uni (165 111) et l’Italie (81 729), avec une augmentation de 11 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

Diseño web