News and Activities

One family, one passion

The Vandermarliere family has passed on the passion for the good cigars from generation to generation, as if in relay race. More than 90 years ago Maurits Vandermarliere started a small cigar factory in the attic of his shop. Today, the grandson Frederik Vandermarliere runs one of the few Belgian cigar companies with the same determination and dedication as his grandfather.

To enter the J. Cortès cigar factory is to be transported to another universe. The smell of tobacco permeates every corner and every machine of the large building. Although it has been enlarged and modernised, the building itself retains the character of the original factory. In the same way, the family sense of the company is palpable. During the visit, we were accompanied by Mr Frederik Vandermarliere, CEO of the company, together with various department heads of the company, who have been part of it for decades.

After a tour that allowed us to discover step by step the processes carried out in the Handzame factory to manufacture the cigars, we sat down with Mr. Frederik Vandermarliere, Mr. Henry Masquelin, of the Purchasing department, and Mr. Walburg Vandenbroucke, of the Product Development department, who responded to our brief questions.

a. Tell us a little about the company

The company currently employs around 4,000 people worldwide, distributed among its five factories, sales team and administrative team. Our largest operation is in Sri Lanka, where more than 2,000 people work, the second in Nicaragua, and the third in the Dominican Republic, with more than 200 employees.

Our business model is based on the distribution of products through resellers, we do not have our own stores.

 

b. How do you establish a commercial relationship with Dominican tobacco/tobacconists? How long have you used it in the production of your products?
Our raw material is purchased in different countries. For more than 50 years we have been buying wrappers and fillers for our cigars in the Dominican Republic through two companies that have operations in Santiago de los Caballeros, although if necessary we also turn to local private companies.

Each year we order the material we need for the following year, according to our sales projections. In this way, tobacco growers can plan the harvest and avoid overstocking.

c. Which of your products use Dominican tobacco?
We use Dominican tobacco in almost all of our products, but we can highlight our J. Cortès Dominican range, where we have a Mini, Panatella and Corona-format. Very nice cigars carrying the name of your beautiful country.

d. What qualities did you identify in Dominican tobacco to add to your premium product portfolio?
Each type of tobacco plant has particular qualities. The Dominican tobacco leaves we buy are selected according to the kind of cigar and the blend we want to create.

The quality of Dominican tobacco has improved considerably in recent years. From offering tobacco of good quality but with a neutral flavour, the Dominican tobacco growers have put a lot of effort into developing a product of superior taste. It now has more variety, more character, more complexity and better combustibility, and this only enhances the quality of the cigars we produce. It is no coincidence that the Dominican Republic is one of the biggest producers of handmade cigars in the world.

e. What do you recommend to cigar lovers in order, as the company’s motto says, to achieve the greatest enjoyment of a good cigar?
The recommendation would be to enjoy a cigar that is well made, and that is produced by people who know the trade and who are passionate about their work. To make a good cigar there are twenty to thirty steps in the process where you have to be very careful not to ruin your cigar. From the moment the tobacco is planted, when the leaves are hung to dry, what day to take them out, the time of fermentation of the leaves, how the cigar is rolled, how to create an appropriate mixture of tobacco… there are so many things that can go wrong.

When you smoke a cigar, you can tell if you gave the whole process the time it needed. Tobacco manufacturing can seem very long, but if you don’t allow things to take their time, you get an inferior quality product.

And, of course, you have to take the time to enjoy it. You can have an excellent cigar, but if you rush to smoke it, if you don’t taste it, you won’t appreciate its quality. To enjoy a good cigar, the person must sit down and relax. That’s why our company has adopted the motto “Don’t just smoke, enjoy!” (#dontsmokebutenjoy)

 

You can also read other interviews in these links:
CINOCO, representatives of Ron Barceló in Belgium, here.
Vinche & Koopmans, representatives of Arturo Fuente cigars, produced in the Dominican Republic, here.
Karina Marte, the first Latina candidate for the post of councillor in Ghent, here.

Diseño web

Nouvelles et Événements

Une famille, une passion

La famille Vandermarliere a transmis de génération en génération la passion pour les bons cigares, comme dans une course de relais. Il y a plus de 90 ans, Maurits Vandermarliere a commencé une petite fabrique de cigares dans le grenier de son magasin. Aujourd’hui, son petit-fils, Frederik Vandermarliere, dirige l’une des seules compagnies de cigares belges avec la même détermination et dévouement que son grand-père.

Entrer dans la fabrique de cigares J. Cortès, c’est se transporter dans un autre univers. L’odeur du tabac imprègne chaque coin et chaque machine dans ce bâtiment spacieux. Bien qu’il ait été agrandi et modernisé, le bâtiment conserve le caractère de l’usine d’origine. De même, le sens familial de l’entreprise y est palpable. Au cours de la visite, nous sommes accompagnés de M. Frederik Vandermaliere, PDG de l’entreprise, ainsi que des responsables des différents départements qui font partie de la société depuis des décennies.

Après la visite qui nous a permis de découvrir pas à pas les processus qui se déroulent dans l’usine de Handzame pour l’élaboration des cigares de la marque J. Cortès, nous avons rencontré Monsieur Frederik Vandermaliere, Monsieur Henry Masquelin, du service des achats, et Monsieur Walburg Vandenbroucke, du service développement produits, qui nous ont accordé un bref entretien.

a. Parlez-nous un peu de l’entreprise
L’entreprise emploie actuellement environ 4 000 personnes dans le monde, réparties dans ses cinq usines, son équipe commerciale et son équipe administrative. Notre plus grande opération est au Sri Lanka, où travaillent plus de 2 000 personnes, suivie du Nicaragua et en troisième place la République dominicaine, avec plus de 200 salariés.

Notre modèle d’affaires est basé sur la distribution de produits par l’intermédiaire de revendeurs, nous ne possédons pas nos propres magasins.

b. Comment établissez-vous une relation commerciale avec les producteurs de tabac dominicains ? Depuis combien de temps l’utilisez-vous dans la production de vos produits ?

Nos matières premières sont achetées dans différents pays. Depuis plus de 50 ans, nous achetons des capes et des tripes pour nos cigares en République dominicaine par l’intermédiaire de deux sociétés présentes à Santiago de los Caballeros, mais nous faisons également appel, si nécessaire, à d’autres sociétés privées locales.

Chaque année, nous commandons les produits de l’année suivante, en fonction de nos prévisions de ventes. De cette façon, les producteurs de tabac peuvent planifier la récolte et éviter le surstockage.

c. Quels de vos produits utilisent le tabac dominicain ?
Nous utilisons le tabac dominicain dans presque tous nos produits, mais nous pouvons souligner notre gamme J. Cortés Dominican, qui comprend les formats Mini, Panatella et Corona. Ce sont d’excellents cigares qui portent le nom de votre beau pays.

d. Quelles qualités avez-vous identifiées dans le tabac dominicain pour l’ajouter à vos produits de haut de gamme?
Chaque type de plante de tabac a des qualités particulières. Les feuilles de tabac dominicain que nous achetons sont sélectionnées en fonction du type de cigare et du mélange que nous voulons créer.

La qualité du tabac dominicain s’est considérablement améliorée ces dernières années. Auparavant, le tabac dominicain était de bonne qualité mais avec un goût neutre. C’est pourquoi les producteurs de tabac dominicains ont fait beaucoup d’efforts pour développer un produit au goût supérieur. Maintenant il a plus de variété, plus de caractère, plus de complexité et une meilleure combustibilité, et cela ne fait qu’améliorer la qualité des cigares que nous produisons. Ce n’est pas un hasard si la République dominicaine est l’un des plus grands producteurs de cigares artisanaux au monde.

e. Que recommandez-vous aux amateurs de cigares pour, comme le dit la devise de l’entreprise, obtenir le plus grand plaisir d’un bon cigare J. Cortès ?
La recommandation serait de déguster un cigare bien fait, produit par des gens qui connaissent le métier et qui sont passionnés par leur travail. Pour produire un bon cigare, il y a vingt, trente étapes dans le processus au cours desquelles il faut prendre grand soin de ne pas ruiner le produit final : à partir du moment où le tabac est planté, quand les feuilles sont accrochées pour sécher, quel jour les enlever, l’heure de fermentation des feuilles, comment le cigare est roulé, comment créer un mélange approprié… Il y a tant de choses qui peuvent tourner mal.

Lorsque vous fumez un cigare, vous pouvez dire si vous avez donné tout le temps nécessaire au processus. La fabrication du tabac peut sembler très longue, mais si vous ne laissez pas les choses prendre leur temps, vous obtenez un produit de mauvaise qualité.

Et, bien sûr, vous devez prendre le temps d’en profiter. Vous pouvez avoir un excellent cigare, mais si vous vous précipitez pour le fumer, si vous ne le savourez pas, vous n’apprécierez pas sa qualité. Pour profiter d’un bon cigare, la personne doit s’asseoir et se détendre. C’est pourquoi notre entreprise a adopté la devise « Ne vous contentez pas de les fumer, savourez-les ! »

 

Vous pouvez également lire d’autres entretiens dans ces liens :
CINOCO, représentants de Ron Barceló en Belgique, ici.
Vinche & Koopmans, représentants des cigares Arturo Fuente, produits en République Dominicaine, ici.
Karina Marte, la première Latina candidate au poste de conseillère municipale à Gand, ici.

Diseño web