Meet the Ambassador

Iván Ogando Lora

Ambassador of the Dominican Republic to the Kingdom of Belgium and the European Union

 

 

Ambassador Ogando Lora was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, on 13 April 1963. He holds a master’s degree in Economic Policy with an emphasis on International Relations and postgraduate studies in Development Cooperation and Management of Development Projects, and has more than thirty years of experience in the areas of Trade Negotiations and Integration and Regional Cooperation in the Caribbean and Latin America.

 

He has held various technical positions in regional and international institutions at the diplomatic representation level. From 1995 to 1999 he headed the CARIFORUM Programming Unit in Georgetown, Guyana, coordinating regional projects financed by the European Development Fund (EDF). He opened the first permanent diplomatic mission of the Dominican Republic in Trinidad and Tobago as its Ad-Hoc Minister Counsellor from 1999 to 2000. Later he was named Executive Director of the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) Administrative Secretariat from 2000 to 2004, with headquarters in Miami, Florida (USA), Panama City (Panama) and Puebla (Mexico). From 2005 to 2007 he was a member of the regional technical team of the Caribbean Regional Negotiations Machinery (CRMN) based in Barbados, which coordinated the negotiations of the Economic Partnership Association with the European Union.  He returned in 2007 to Santo Domingo to assume the post of General Manager of the “Program to Strengthen Foreign Trade Management” funded by the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB).  From 2011 to 2013, he was the first Director General of CARIFORUM, and was Director of the Caribbean Directorate in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from 2015 to 2017. Until recently, he served as Advisor to the Vice Ministry of Negotiations and International Cooperation in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

 

Ambassador Ogando has extensive academic experience as a professor for postgraduate programs at universities such as the Pontifícia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) and the Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC), as well as at the Institute of Diplomatic and Consular Training of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Dominican Republic.  From 2014 to 2020, he was Director of the Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences, Dominican Republic Program (FLACSO-RD). He is the author of multiple publications on the issues of regional integration and cooperation in the Caribbean and Europe, having been a speaker at numerous national and international academic conferences and congresses.

 

Ambassador Ogando´s interests include reading, history, politics, economics, and Latin American literature. He is an avid sports fan, in particular of baseball and basketball, and enjoys hiking, nature walks and music.

 

He is married to Laura Denisa Pujols Subero and is father of three: Iván Ogando Pérez (1991) and stepsons Ian Mario Rondón Pujols (1994) and Joel Antonio Rondón Pujols (1999).

Diseño web

L’Ambassadeur

Iván Ogando Lora

Ambassadeur de la République dominicaine auprès du Royaume de Belgique et de l’Union européenne
L’Ambassadeur Ogando Lora est né à Saint-Domingue, en République dominicaine, le 13 avril 1963. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en politique économique, avec une spécialisation en relations internationales, et des études de troisième cycle en coopération au développement et en gestion de projets de développement. Il a plus de trente ans d’expérience dans les domaines des négociations commerciales, de l’intégration et de la coopération régionale dans les Caraïbes et l’ Amérique latine.
Il a occupé divers postes techniques dans des institutions régionales et internationales au niveau de la représentation diplomatique. De 1995 à 1999, il a dirigé l’unité de programmation du CARIFORUM à Georgetown, en Guyane, coordonnant des projets régionaux financés par le Fonds européen de développement (FED). Il a ouvert la première mission diplomatique permanente de la République dominicaine à Trinidad et Tobago en tant que ministre conseiller ad hoc de 1999 à 2000. Par la suite, il a été nommé directeur exécutif du Secrétariat administratif de la Zone de libre-échange des Amériques (ZLEA) de 2000 à 2004, avec des sièges à Miami, en Floride (États-Unis), à Panama City (Panama) et à Puebla (Mexique). De 2005 à 2007, il a été membre de l’équipe technique régionale du Mécanisme régional de négociation des Caraïbes (CRMN), basé à la Barbade, qui a coordonné les négociations de l’Accord de partenariat économique avec l’Union européenne.  Il est revenu en 2007 à Saint-Domingue pour occuper le poste de directeur général du « Programme de renforcement de la gestion du commerce extérieur » financé par la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID).  De 2011 à 2013, il a été le premier directeur général de CARIFORUM, et a été directeur de la direction des Caraïbes au Ministère des Affaires étrangères de 2015 à 2017. Jusqu’à récemment, il était conseiller du vice-ministre des Négociations et de la Coopération internationale au sein du Ministère des Affaires étrangères.
L’Ambassadeur Ogando possède une vaste expérience académique en tant que professeur pour des programmes de troisième cycle dans des universités telles que la Pontifícia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) et l’Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC), ainsi qu’à l’Institut de formation diplomatique et consulaire du Ministère des Affaires étrangères en République dominicaine.  De 2014 à 2020, il a été directeur de la Faculté latino-américaine des sciences sociales, programme de la République dominicaine (FLACSO-RD). Il est l’auteur de multiples publications sur les questions d’intégration et de coopération régionales dans les Caraïbes et en Europe, et est intervenu dans de nombreuses conférences et congrès universitaires nationaux et internationaux.
L’Ambassadeur Ogando s’intéresse à la lecture, à l’histoire, à la politique, à l’économie et à la littérature latino-américaine. Il est un fervent amateur de sport, en particulier de baseball et de basket-ball, et apprécie les randonnées, les promenades dans la nature et la musique.
Il est marié à Laura Denisa Pujols Subero et est père de trois enfants : Iván Ogando Pérez (1991) et ses beaux-fils Ian Mario Rondón Pujols (1994) et Joel Antonio Rondón Pujols (1999).
Diseño web